All Items  > CDs  > [CD] Kodo "Kaden"
[CD] Kodo "Kaden"
Item Number29010
Item Name[CD] Kodo "Kaden"
Price in Japan3,240 YEN
Price Outside Japan3,000 YEN

"Kaden" features nine unique compositions that were created especially for four recent “Kodo One Earth Tour” productions directed by Tamasaburo Bando: Legend, Mystery, Eternity, and Chaos. The tracks were captured with the latest high-resolution audio technology in a recording studio, allowing even the subtlest tones to interweave in unprecedented ways. Like a brand-new theater performance, this album creates a world of sound that promises to captivate and delight.

The album opens by showcasing the various tones of a newly developed, award-winning tunable taiko, Kanade. Melodic bamboo flutes float in to transport listeners to that fleeting realm between day and night. Later, an ensemble of high-pitched shime-daiko enters with a parade of sound, which leads to a powerful match between two mighty opponents: the o-daiko (big drum) and a Western drum kit. The climax is the monumental title piece, Kaden, a modern oeuvre featuring six performers playing twenty drums.

Listen to samples of all 9 tracks here:


  1. Seiten (Composed by Masayuki Sakamoto)
  2. Yuyami (Composed by Yuta Sumiyoshi)
  3. Arrive (Composed by Tamasaburo Bando)
  4. Toki no Ma(Composed by Yuta Sumiyoshi)
  5. Kukai(Composed by Kenta Nakagome)
  6. Yogiri – Asayake Gumo (Composed by Tsuyoshi Maeda)
  7. Ayaori(Composed by Yuta Sumiyoshi)
  8. Kaden(Composed by Tamasaburo Bando)
  9. Kei Kei(Composed by Yuta Sumiyoshi)
  • Released: December 21, 2016
  • Product Code: OD-018
  • Sales Agency: Otodaiku